Concert Reviews

The Courtneys, Monomyth, and Mouth Breather @ Le Ritz, March 27th, 2017

On Monday, March 27, The Courtneys, Monomyth, and Mouth Breather played a stacked show at Bar Le Ritz. All three bands have recently dropped new music, and played a mix of fresh tracks and old favourites. The Parc Extension bar was bustling with a warm and eager crowd for the three Canadian slacker pop bands.


Alestorm @ Corona, March 20th, 2017

Back at it here again with another concert review! Monday, March 20 welcomed Alestorm at the Corona Theater, and man was I excited to get my pirate mood on. Upon arriving, I checked at the back of the venue hoping to meet the band but, sadly, none of the members were there. 

Once I managed to get inside, I ran for the front as fast as possible and secured my spot and land ho!


The Lumineers & Co. rock the Bell Centre! - March 18th, 2017

Crowds flooded into the Bell Centre on the evening of Saturday, March 18. As the beer flowed and the seats filled, the arena became wired with anticipation. Getting the crowd going indefinitely were the opening two acts: Susto, and the born to rock, Kaleo, who really know how to put on a show. The production value really excelled, sending vibrations into your bones. Icelandic born and bred, Kaleo offered unforgiving vocals and heart-pounding tracks, sending the crowd into frenzy, especially when it was time for “Way Down We Go.” Bravo, boys.


KANPE Karnaval @ Métropolis, March 15th, 2017

On March 15th, KANPE held it’s 5th annual Karnaval, with the one and only Arcade Fire headlining the event. Co-founded by Regine Chassagne, principal member of Arcade Fire, KANPE is an organization that works in Haïti to help those who are facing extreme financial poverty. Meaning “Stand Up,” KANPE helps vulnerable families to reach financial autonomy.


Bring Me The Horizon @ Stade Uniprix, March 17th, 2017

The evening started off slow with myself making my way to the venue, feeling really excited. Since the Stade Uniprix is a fairly new place, I had no expectations on how it was going to be; how big it was or how many people it could hold. Getting off at De Castelnau metro station, I noticed people were looking for the way to get to the venue, and I just followed the crowd. As soon as I saw the stadium, a huge line had already started since doors had opened and it was endless. I was thinking to myself, “holy cow, this is gonna be huge.


Ritual Master: The Next Black Sabbath (Show Review)

Along came excitement when I was invited to a special show at the Mayfair to see Ritual Master, an up-and-coming doom metal band from the West Island who take influence from a lot of bands such as Black Sabbath, Venom, Electric Wizard, and Bathory.

Arriving to the venue my friend, we walked in as the band was on stage setting up their gear. We had a little chat with Gabe (bass, vocals), Ethan (keys/vocals), David (drums), and Rob (guitars), and we caught up since the last time we all saw each other previously. Rob is the newest member of Ritual Master since Alex, their old guitarist, quit the band due to pursue other things in his life.


Simply Saucer @ Le Ritz PDB, February 24th, 2017

Even though faint rumblings of the band’s reunion had been creeping down the grapevine from Hamilton, never did I think I would be fortunate enough to see Simply Saucer LIVE in concert. So many proto-punk heroes and trailblazers from the golden age of wild and weird rock ‘n roll are either six feet under, or scattered ashes. Lou Reed is dead. Jimi Hendrix is dead. The Asheton brothers are dead. Rob Tyner, Fred ‘Sonic’ smith, and Michael Davis—all dead. But Edgar Breau and Simply Saucer are very much alive, and after their performance at Le Ritz PDB back in February, I can personally attest to this fact.


Black Joe Lewis & the Honeybears @ La Sala Rossa – February 27th, 2017

This Monday, two CJLO contributors, Genaro Peña Cruz and Paul Brown, had the chance to see Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears as they performed at La Sala Rossa, as part of the Montréal en Lumière festival going on until March 11. Here’s the story of one single show, told by two different music lovers.

 

Genaro Peña Cruz’s story


Run The Jewels @ Métropolis - February 21st, 2017

The increasingly upward trajectory of the duo known as Run The Jewels has been an absolute joy to watch through the last few short years. Bad timing and bad luck in the past had robbed me of the chance to see them live—including one rescheduled Montreal show due to a truck fire that destroyed some of their gear and merchandise—but finally, I found myself with a ticket to the hottest show in town.


T.I. @ L'Olympia - January 29th, 2017

I'm not one to normally go to concerts, but this time, I decided to make the move—especially seeing that it was T.I., and and it would've been his first time coming to Montreal! Needless to say, I had some high expectations for the concert.

Excited and enthusiastic, I got to L'Olympia early to get a good spot to see the big man himself. 

However, the crowd didn't seem too enthusiastic in the beginning. The first set of artists who came out really didn't get the crowd hyped enough for the main show. Some went so far as to attempt crowd surfing, which didn't go well and ultimately didn't work. I think everyone was just waiting for the main event.


YUSRA Benefit Concert - February 10, 2017

Image credit: CBC

Last weekend saw a benefit concert at the Rialto Theatre for the families of the victims of the Quebec City mosque shooting, where a group of Canadian DJs, singers, and rappers came together in support of a very good cause. The audience raised nearly $5,000 through tickets, donations, and merchandise according to Dan Seligman, the creator-director of Pop Montreal.   


Black Marble @ Le Ritz - February 10th, 2017

I have been looking forward to seeing Black Marble, the dreamy coldwave synth pop duo from Brooklyn, for quite some time. I knew I needed to see them, in part because their music has been occupying my brain since their latest album It’s Immaterial was released, but also because I was curious what the physical manifestation of their music could possibly be like. There is something about their music that carries with it an air of mystery.


Neal Morse @ Club Soda, January 31st 2017

January 31st, 2017 was already going to be an eventful day before it was announced that, prior to the Neal Morse show that night, Mike Portnoy would be doing a meet and greet at Steve's Music Store on St. Antoine. I have been following Dream Theater since I discovered the Six Degrees of Inner Turbulene album and got hooked by the song “The Glass Prison”, which blew my mind completely. I finally got the meet Mike Portney, the man behind the giant kit.


High Five @ Vice & Versa, January 22nd 2017

I’m loving these Sunday evening 5 à 7 performances at Vice & Versa, a cute brick and wood-trim resto-brewery in Little Italy serving innumerable craft beers on keg and gourmet burgers, slaw, and the like. I enjoyed a wonderful pulled-pork poutine and a few exquisite white beers, surrounded by familiar smiling faces and good tunes.


Tall Shadows & Monogamy, Le Cactus, January 18th 2017

As I understand, last night’s performance was meant to be held at l’Escogriffe, but since it is currently under renovation, the event was moved to Le Cactus, a small showroom next door . Great little spot. Supposedly doubling as a dance studio, the venue’s side wall is lined entirely with full-sized mirrors, perfectly suitable for the disco ball and lasers bouncing all over the room. Unfortunately, not nearly enough people made it to last night’s performance, but this does not at all take from the music. The bands were great.


Pages