Concert Reviews

Mellevon @ Piranha Bar, May 17th, 2017

Wednesday, May 17 brought us the return of Mellevon to the stage. After a year of being absent from touring, Mellevon brought some newer elements to the table, with their stage and presence.

Upon arriving on stage, it was obvious they changed their image is as a band, went going a more industrial metal look for showmanship, with black vests and corpse paint on their faces. The most interesting thing to note is their new stage setup where they had old-school CRT televisions displaying visual counterparts with the lyrics on them, which was pretty sick to see.


Paul van Dyk Explores Space (And Brings You Along For The Ride) @ New City Gas, May 13th, 2017

In today’s music scene, electronic dance music (EDM) is most widely represented in the form of artists like The Chainsmokers and Zedd, who produce a more pop-influenced style of EDM—but the trance subgenre is still alive and thriving. Award-winning DJ and producer Paul van Dyk proved this on Saturday, May 13, when he and the opening acts Alex M.O.R.P.H. and Heatbeat successfully filled Montreal’s New City Gas. The venue, a large industrial warehouse-type structure, was crowded by people both on the floor section and in the V.I.P. booths which line both sides of the venue.


Sara-Danielle @ Le Ritz PDB, May 3rd, 2017

Having growing up in a city whose main claim to fame is the promise of a stable career in government, running into old high school friends in Montreal has become quite the common occurrence. This past Wednesday, I once again found myself running into an old pal from my hometown. Like most instances, the encounter took place at a bar. Unlike other occasions, however, I was there to take part in their album launch.


Jazz Cartier @ Le Belmont, May 3rd 2017

On what was the tenth leg of his Secret Garden Tour sponsored by Red Bull, Jazz Cartier took over Le Belmont on May 3 and put on a performance that perfectly captured the high octane spirit of his music.

Although the show started an hour late, Jazz Cartier, J.I.D, and Levi Carter gave the sold-out crowd the madness they came for.


Froth w/ Wildhoney and Mundy’s Bay @ Le Ritz PDB, May 2nd, 2017

Perhaps this is simply an effect of the indie-scene filter bubble I’m floating in at the minute—the reverb-addled echo chamber that encourages me to skip any and every song that doesn’t start with a chip-packet crackle of feedback and some sweet, jangly, twangy arpeggio—but I’m convinced (hyperbole alert!) that we are currently experiencing a shoegaze revival. The Shoegaze Revival. Slowdive are back, Ride are back; in the last few years, we’ve had new albums by My Bloody Valentine and Swervedriver after hiatuses of 15-20 years.


Mono & Holy Sons @ Centre Phi, April 26, 2017

Holy Sons and Mono played some beautifully heavy music at the modern and intimate Centre Phi on April 26, 2017.


One Calm Saturday Night in Montreal at Casa Del Popolo - Little Suns, April 8th, 2017

It was a Saturday night in April, and I was getting ready to go out a little later than expected. But despite my overwhelming laziness, I put on my ripped black jeans and a cute striped t-shirt. I had my little bag and my little notepad and was ready to hear some new music for a change. With a 20-minute walk under my feet, I made it to Casa del Popolo and was feeling more exhausted than before. Nevertheless, I made my way through the restaurant and to the back doors where the night’s entertainment was playing.


Rap Battle Against Consumerism @ Le Belmont, March 29th, 2017

Wednesday the 29th of March, Rap Battles for Social Justice got back on the stage—this time to fight consumerism.


Matthew Good Band @ Corona Theatre, March 18th 2017

The 1990s and early 2000s were a heady time for us all. It was the last time where radio ruled supreme, and as such, a band was made or broken whether they could get a coveted rotation slot on stations. This also was an interesting time for bands in North America, as what became popular in Canada due to Canadian Content requirements and what the United States pushed could sometimes make for a situation where an immensely popular band in Canada was scarcely heard of in the US. Case in point: Matthew Good Band, a group of British Columbians whose albums netted them 14 Juno nominations which include two wins for "Best Group" and "Best Rock Album" for Beautiful Midnight in 2000.


The Courtneys, Monomyth, and Mouth Breather @ Le Ritz, March 27th, 2017

On Monday, March 27, The Courtneys, Monomyth, and Mouth Breather played a stacked show at Bar Le Ritz. All three bands have recently dropped new music, and played a mix of fresh tracks and old favourites. The Parc Extension bar was bustling with a warm and eager crowd for the three Canadian slacker pop bands.


Alestorm @ Corona, March 20th, 2017

Back at it here again with another concert review! Monday, March 20 welcomed Alestorm at the Corona Theater, and man was I excited to get my pirate mood on. Upon arriving, I checked at the back of the venue hoping to meet the band but, sadly, none of the members were there. 

Once I managed to get inside, I ran for the front as fast as possible and secured my spot and land ho!


The Lumineers & Co. rock the Bell Centre! - March 18th, 2017

Crowds flooded into the Bell Centre on the evening of Saturday, March 18. As the beer flowed and the seats filled, the arena became wired with anticipation. Getting the crowd going indefinitely were the opening two acts: Susto, and the born to rock, Kaleo, who really know how to put on a show. The production value really excelled, sending vibrations into your bones. Icelandic born and bred, Kaleo offered unforgiving vocals and heart-pounding tracks, sending the crowd into frenzy, especially when it was time for “Way Down We Go.” Bravo, boys.


KANPE Karnaval @ Métropolis, March 15th, 2017

On March 15th, KANPE held it’s 5th annual Karnaval, with the one and only Arcade Fire headlining the event. Co-founded by Regine Chassagne, principal member of Arcade Fire, KANPE is an organization that works in Haïti to help those who are facing extreme financial poverty. Meaning “Stand Up,” KANPE helps vulnerable families to reach financial autonomy.


Bring Me The Horizon @ Stade Uniprix, March 17th, 2017

The evening started off slow with myself making my way to the venue, feeling really excited. Since the Stade Uniprix is a fairly new place, I had no expectations on how it was going to be; how big it was or how many people it could hold. Getting off at De Castelnau metro station, I noticed people were looking for the way to get to the venue, and I just followed the crowd. As soon as I saw the stadium, a huge line had already started since doors had opened and it was endless. I was thinking to myself, “holy cow, this is gonna be huge.


Ritual Master: The Next Black Sabbath (Show Review)

Along came excitement when I was invited to a special show at the Mayfair to see Ritual Master, an up-and-coming doom metal band from the West Island who take influence from a lot of bands such as Black Sabbath, Venom, Electric Wizard, and Bathory.

Arriving to the venue my friend, we walked in as the band was on stage setting up their gear. We had a little chat with Gabe (bass, vocals), Ethan (keys/vocals), David (drums), and Rob (guitars), and we caught up since the last time we all saw each other previously. Rob is the newest member of Ritual Master since Alex, their old guitarist, quit the band due to pursue other things in his life.


Pages