Concert Reviews

Festival Review : Distortion Psychfest

The Distortion Psychfest returned to Église S-E-J du Mile-End May 9 to 13 2018 for its third edition. The festival showcases some of the best psych, garage, and noise bands from Montreal and beyond. This years edition kicked things off with a double release party — Tel Aviv→New York guitarist Yonatan Gat’s latest LP Universalist, and Montreal band TEKE::TEKE’s debut EP Jikaku. Sheenah Ko which I unfortunately missed, opened the show filling in for Chris Forsyth, and Sunwatchers took care of the music for the after party.

 


15 Years of Unity at Kalmunity

Canada’s largest and longest running urban music collective Kalmunity celebrates 15 years of unity this week with a pool of talented story-tellers, spoken word poets and singers, including the organization’s declared National Treasure, D’Bi Young Antifrika.

The world-renowned dub poet and storyteller began her journey in the city of Montreal with the Kalmunity’s original members, the majority of which are still a part of the collective today. “To the people in this room, this is who I have become and for that, I say thank you,” the artist said to a crowd full of spectators at Petit Campus on Wednesday, May 2nd.


Concert Review: Brainflower & The Nicotines @ Reggies, April 27, 2017

The sound check was so loud that some customers at the back of Reggies’ Bar, oblivious to the fact that a rock concert was about to begin, complained about the sound to the bartender. Unfortunately for them, the show hadn’t even started yet.

As a small Concordian crowd assembled in front of the stage, the first band, The Nicotines, stepped up onto the stage, surrounded by an army of amps and cabinets.

The Montreal-based trio has been gigging for about one year, and has released one EP, Spaced Out. This was their second concert at Reggies, following ROCK the Winter Away which took place in March.


CJLO @ SXSW : Andrew's Metal Coverage

South By Southwest is at this point a festival that has pretty much everything. Starting as a music festival and then expanding to film, gaming, comedy, and tech, there's not much uncovered territory. This was my first year of attending what is arguably the U.S's largest most compact festival, and I have to say it's a bit overwhelming as a first-timer.

The CJLO contingency, consisting of our head, world music director, hip-hop director, and myself(the metal music director), got in Wednesday afternoon, and after settling in at the hotel we headed to the convention center, to pick up wristbands, because, yeah, we're important like that.


Concert Review: The Darkness @ Corona Theatre, April 17, 2018

June 2004, Verdun Auditorium. Once a tour stop for massive acts like The Clash, Metallica, Black Sabbath and Nirvana, by the 2000s, the venue remained mostly unused, other than for minor hockey. The first—and last—show I would ever see in Verdun was The Darkness, touring their massive debut album Permission to Land. I don’t remember too many details from that night; only that it seemed everyone I knew was there, and we all had an incredible time. I don’t believe there have been any other shows at Verdun Auditorium since. Certainly, it went out with a bang that night.


Concert Review: Baths @ Fairmount Theatre, April 14, 2018

The dim lit glow of neon signs and colourful lights at Theatre Fairmount encapsulated the night of Baths’ concert—beginning with the delicate soloist Sasami, following with a smooth but rugged commotion from No Joy, and concluding the stroke of midnight through the voltaic, emotive harmonies of Baths. Each act brought to the stage a unique sound that the theatre would be foolish to forget.


Concert Review: Mouth Breather @ Casa del Popolo, April 7, 2018

The musical style of Owen Hopper, a.k.a Mouth Breather, is one that cannot be easily defined but it does make people want to dance. Hooper produces the majority of his songs, mixing the beats, creating the melodies, and layering the vocals. He describes his sound as a mesh of all the art that he consumes and simply makes it his own.


CJLO @ SXSW: Zak Slax Coverage Part 2

Nardwuar told me he was going to see Shopping – a good pick indeed. I, however, was looking for a less hyped gig; a brief respite from the increasingly thick throngs of Hotel Vegas, as my energy had sunk with the sun.


CJLO @ SXSW: Amrew's Three-Day Recap

This year, I had the privilege of attending South by Southwest 2018 in Austin, Texas, with my fellow music directors. I was really excited because Austin has the perfect weather, great people and southwestern charm. During SXSW, the city is filled with loud music and a ton of great shows to see and artists to discover.

On our first day, after picking up our badges at the Austin Convention Center, we tracked down nourishment for the night ahead. I met up with a rep and headed to The Belmont for the John Lennon Educational Tour Bus, hosting RZA of Wu-Tang featuring Stone Mecca and Pussy Riot.


Concert Review: Albert Hammond Jr. @ L’Astral

Like many of my fellow millennials, the guitar stylings of Albert Hammond Jr. served as the soundtrack to my adolescence. Yet that was within the context of The Strokes, a fully different beast from Hammond Jr.’s solo project. His newest work is scrappy, spirited, and more conceptually cohesive than anything his bandmates have put out in a while. Regardless of any stylistic differences, both old school and new school alternative rock fans alike would have enjoyed Monday’s energetic yet intimate show.

 


CJLO @ SXSW: Kelly's Experience

Back from an exhilarating experience at South by Southwest 2018 in Austin, Texas, it is time to digest our street meat and musical discoveries from this seemingly never-ending music-at-every-corner festival and conference.

As World Music Director, my mission was to discover as much "world" music-inspired artists as possible. Some buzz words that peaked my attention included afro-futurism and global future, wrapped around more favourite words like funk, electronic, and psychedelic.


Concert Review: Intervals @ Café Campus, February 22, 2018

Thursday, February 22nd brought us to Café Campus, where Intervals performed on their North American tour alongside Nick Johnston, and Jason Richardson.

Needless to say, the anticipation was quite high for when I was about to go to this show. It had been ages since I had been to a show since my injury in early July, where I dislocated my elbow, and I was not able to go anywhere for months. It is good to be back in the live music world. 

Making my way to the venue, I was listening to The Way Forward again to get a refresher of the songs, and as well preparing for my interview.


Concert Review: "This Isn’t About the Perfect Black T-Shirt" - Porches & Girl Ray @ Théâtre Plaza, Feb. 18, 2018

It seems to be my thing to go to concerts of bands that I’ve never heard of before. This has been my third time taking part in this tradition and by far it has been the best one. Going into this, I was really expecting lo-fi, chill indie vibe-y music that the crowd would sway back and forth too. I wasn’t wrong, but I was definitely missing a significant part of the concert.


Concert Review: "Blue faces for a night not so blue" - Brockhampton @ Corona, Feb. 6, 2018

Once I learned that Brockhampton was coming to Montreal, I instantly started listening to all of their four albums religiously.  I now believe that all of the 16-year-old boys in Montreal did the same.

Last Tuesday, Montreal’s rap enthusiast community had the great honor of welcoming the 15 members that form the American music group Brockhampton for a show of high-intensity at Corona Theater.

The band, created in 2015, is the brainchild of Texas-raised artist Kevin Abstract who, via a website specific for fans of Kanye West, formed a band designated to redefining the title “boy band” and creating music that imperatively mandates inclusivity and diversity.


Pages