Concert Reviews

Ancient Future Festival 2017

Ancient Future Festival is situated at a woodland spot by the water at the old port. Once a year in September this festival transforms the spot into a little utopian world which is a hub for electronic music, visual arts, and circus arts all with a fantastic view of the St-Laurent river and Quai de l'Horloge. The outdoor venue has a couple of stages with masses of people dancing amongst the trees surrounded by hammocks, local vendors, and fire dancing circus acts. However once the sun has fully set, the final venue opens up at the immense warehouse next door with a gigantic sounsystem and trippy visuals to enable the festival goers to rave all night long. 


Concert Review: Guns N’ Roses

The theme of the current Guns N' Roses tour is “Not in This Life-Time”: no one, not even the band members themselves, thought they would reunite. Millions of fans wanted to see the group back together again, but it seemed there was "nothing left to do, too many things were said”, to quote another famous rock band. So, when it was announced in 2016 that they would be playing The Troubadour, Coachella and proceeding on a worldwide tour, I was beyond excited for the prospect of a live performance. The question remained, however, whether they would make a stop in Montreal, after the infamous 1992 riots, where the Olympic Stadium was trashed by angry fans following shortened sets.


Next Music from Tokyo Volume 10 Electrifies Canada

Yubisaki Nohaku guitarist and stage dive queen Junko Kimura

Over the past week, on May 19 and 20 in Toronto, May 22 in Montreal, and May 24 in Vancouver, five amazingly talented Japanese bands set the Canadian cities ablaze with high energy performances during the Next Music from Tokyo (NMFT) volume 10 tour. DJ Lawrell, CJLO’s resident Japanese music nerd and host of Fukubukuro, shares his thoughts on the Toronto and Montreal shows.

 

The Taupe


Mellevon @ Piranha Bar, May 17th, 2017

Wednesday, May 17 brought us the return of Mellevon to the stage. After a year of being absent from touring, Mellevon brought some newer elements to the table, with their stage and presence.

Upon arriving on stage, it was obvious they changed their image is as a band, went going a more industrial metal look for showmanship, with black vests and corpse paint on their faces. The most interesting thing to note is their new stage setup where they had old-school CRT televisions displaying visual counterparts with the lyrics on them, which was pretty sick to see.


Paul van Dyk Explores Space (And Brings You Along For The Ride) @ New City Gas, May 13th, 2017

In today’s music scene, electronic dance music (EDM) is most widely represented in the form of artists like The Chainsmokers and Zedd, who produce a more pop-influenced style of EDM—but the trance subgenre is still alive and thriving. Award-winning DJ and producer Paul van Dyk proved this on Saturday, May 13, when he and the opening acts Alex M.O.R.P.H. and Heatbeat successfully filled Montreal’s New City Gas. The venue, a large industrial warehouse-type structure, was crowded by people both on the floor section and in the V.I.P. booths which line both sides of the venue.


Sara-Danielle @ Le Ritz PDB, May 3rd, 2017

Having growing up in a city whose main claim to fame is the promise of a stable career in government, running into old high school friends in Montreal has become quite the common occurrence. This past Wednesday, I once again found myself running into an old pal from my hometown. Like most instances, the encounter took place at a bar. Unlike other occasions, however, I was there to take part in their album launch.


Jazz Cartier @ Le Belmont, May 3rd 2017

On what was the tenth leg of his Secret Garden Tour sponsored by Red Bull, Jazz Cartier took over Le Belmont on May 3 and put on a performance that perfectly captured the high octane spirit of his music.

Although the show started an hour late, Jazz Cartier, J.I.D, and Levi Carter gave the sold-out crowd the madness they came for.


Froth w/ Wildhoney and Mundy’s Bay @ Le Ritz PDB, May 2nd, 2017

Perhaps this is simply an effect of the indie-scene filter bubble I’m floating in at the minute—the reverb-addled echo chamber that encourages me to skip any and every song that doesn’t start with a chip-packet crackle of feedback and some sweet, jangly, twangy arpeggio—but I’m convinced (hyperbole alert!) that we are currently experiencing a shoegaze revival. The Shoegaze Revival. Slowdive are back, Ride are back; in the last few years, we’ve had new albums by My Bloody Valentine and Swervedriver after hiatuses of 15-20 years.


Mono & Holy Sons @ Centre Phi, April 26, 2017

Holy Sons and Mono played some beautifully heavy music at the modern and intimate Centre Phi on April 26, 2017.


One Calm Saturday Night in Montreal at Casa Del Popolo - Little Suns, April 8th, 2017

It was a Saturday night in April, and I was getting ready to go out a little later than expected. But despite my overwhelming laziness, I put on my ripped black jeans and a cute striped t-shirt. I had my little bag and my little notepad and was ready to hear some new music for a change. With a 20-minute walk under my feet, I made it to Casa del Popolo and was feeling more exhausted than before. Nevertheless, I made my way through the restaurant and to the back doors where the night’s entertainment was playing.


Rap Battle Against Consumerism @ Le Belmont, March 29th, 2017

Wednesday the 29th of March, Rap Battles for Social Justice got back on the stage—this time to fight consumerism.


Matthew Good Band @ Corona Theatre, March 18th 2017

The 1990s and early 2000s were a heady time for us all. It was the last time where radio ruled supreme, and as such, a band was made or broken whether they could get a coveted rotation slot on stations. This also was an interesting time for bands in North America, as what became popular in Canada due to Canadian Content requirements and what the United States pushed could sometimes make for a situation where an immensely popular band in Canada was scarcely heard of in the US. Case in point: Matthew Good Band, a group of British Columbians whose albums netted them 14 Juno nominations which include two wins for "Best Group" and "Best Rock Album" for Beautiful Midnight in 2000.


The Courtneys, Monomyth, and Mouth Breather @ Le Ritz, March 27th, 2017

On Monday, March 27, The Courtneys, Monomyth, and Mouth Breather played a stacked show at Bar Le Ritz. All three bands have recently dropped new music, and played a mix of fresh tracks and old favourites. The Parc Extension bar was bustling with a warm and eager crowd for the three Canadian slacker pop bands.


Alestorm @ Corona, March 20th, 2017

Back at it here again with another concert review! Monday, March 20 welcomed Alestorm at the Corona Theater, and man was I excited to get my pirate mood on. Upon arriving, I checked at the back of the venue hoping to meet the band but, sadly, none of the members were there. 

Once I managed to get inside, I ran for the front as fast as possible and secured my spot and land ho!


The Lumineers & Co. rock the Bell Centre! - March 18th, 2017

Crowds flooded into the Bell Centre on the evening of Saturday, March 18. As the beer flowed and the seats filled, the arena became wired with anticipation. Getting the crowd going indefinitely were the opening two acts: Susto, and the born to rock, Kaleo, who really know how to put on a show. The production value really excelled, sending vibrations into your bones. Icelandic born and bred, Kaleo offered unforgiving vocals and heart-pounding tracks, sending the crowd into frenzy, especially when it was time for “Way Down We Go.” Bravo, boys.


Pages