Concert Reviews

A$AP Rocky At Place Bell, Jan 13 2019

Photo: Kaya Martin

A$AP Rocky’s “Injured Generation” tour took to Place Bell on Sunday night to treat fans to a stadium show based on his 2018 album TESTING.  

A$AP Rocky is the most popular member of Harlem rap collective A$AP Mob that began to gain popularity in 2011 after the release of his debut single “Peso” and his Live. Love. A$AP. mixtape. The rapper has since gone on to become a fashion icon in the music industry, and has also been featured in several movies.


Ensiferum at Théâtre Corona, Jan 9 2019

Truth be told, I hadn’t delved into Ensiferum’s music before summer 2017 when I caught them at Montebello Rockfest. I was, however, turned into an instant fan when their pulsating anthems roared into my unsuspecting ears. Really, what I learned that day was the strength of Ensiferum’s music, and their most recent visit to Montreal’s Corona Theatre (all the way from Finland no less) further confirmed it. You don’t need to be an Ensiferum fan to enjoy their show. The melodic nature of their songwriting is enough to sing along to just about any of their songs, while being fast and aggressive at the same time.


The Internet at MTELUS, Dec 8 2018

The Hive Mind Tour by The Internet and Moonchild came through Montreal at MTELUS on Dec 8 2018 with a concert incomparable to any I have ever seen.


Jorja Smith at MTELUS, Dec 18 2018

Photo: Louis Pavlakos

Performing at her sold out show on Tuesday December 19th at MTELUS, the lovely Jorja Smith blessed us with her amazing vocal range and an unforgettable tone.


Playboi Carti at MTELUS, Dec. 1 2018

Playboi Carti made a stop in Montreal on Saturday night as part of his Neon Tour, and an eager crowd awaited the artist’s much-delayed performance at MTELUS.

Atlanta native and long-time A$AP Mob affiliate Playboi Carti is on the last stretch of his tour,  continuing to promote his debut studio album Die Lit that dropped in May 2018.  The album came after the success of Carti’s eponymous debut mixtape, featuring his breakout single “Magnolia” that put eyes on the 22-year-old trap rapper. 


Sloan at Cafe Campus, Nov 27 2018

For those looking to relive the 90s, there’s no better news than a 30th anniversary performance possibly in the works of the debut album by Halifax power-pop quartet Sloan. “Four nights at the Foufounes!” bassist Chris Murphy told the crowd, before adding that he hopes to assemble the other acts that played their first Montreal show.

Murphy was joking, of course, because Sloan is nowhere close to being a nostalgia act.


H.E.R. at MTELUS, Nov 20 2018

One of the most inspiring concerts I’ve been to in a while. I Used to Know Her Tour features young artists who have multitasked attending school while pursuing their passion. They are ambitious souls who are born to entertain.


Fucked Up at La Sala Rossa, Nov 4 2018

For a Sunday night, Montreal had many options for concert goers on Nov 4th. Metalheads seemed divided between seeing Behemoth at MTelus or Windhand at le Belmont. Personally, I was originally planning on seeing some good ol’ Quebec grindcore at l’Entre-Nous. That is, until I got word that Fucked Up would be in town, along with hardcore sound-alikes Mil-Spec.


Haken at l'Astral, Nov 1 2018

On Thursday Nov. 1, London-based progressive metal band Haken brought their North American tour to Montreal’s l’Astral. They were joined by Norwegian band Leprous and Boston-based band Bent Knee.

A line gathered early at the venue for the sold out show. I kept my reputation of being first in line and managed to get a front row spot for the concert.


Striker & Unleash The Archers: The Next Generation of Power Metal

On this legendary day, Edmonton’s power metal outfit Striker and British Columbia’s Unleash the Archers invaded the shores of Montreal.


Homeshake's Red Hot Night for POP Montreal

On Saturday night, a sold-out Rialto was hot and ready for one of Montreal’s finest indie singers of his generation. After two opening acts, first Cherry Monday, followed by Guy’s#, the young faces in the crowd started chanting and hollering at Homeshake as he was preparing his equipment on the stage.

 


CJLO @ FME 2018

The 18th edition of the Festival de Musique émergente, or FME, took place over the Labour Day weekend. From Thursday to Sunday, the city of Rouyn-Noranda was overflowing with music.
 

Concert Review: Iceage @ La Sala Rossa, June 25th 2018

I first heard about Denmark’s Iceage in an Iggy Pop interview with Australia’s Triple J in 2013. They had just released their critically acclaimed sophomore album You’re Nothing, and Iggy was praising them on their ability to “express negative energy.” This led me to downloading the album immediately, and I’ve been a fan since. With Plowing Into the Field of Love, their 2014 album, they displayed their growth in both musicality and lyricism. Their latest effort, Beyondless, supports Iggy Pop’s claim. It demonstrates further growth and maturity and proves that Iceage is a band with something to say, and that they are here to stay.


Concert Review: Insomnium @ Foufounes Électriques, June 20th 2018

June 20th brought us one of the most epic, memorable nights that rocked the Foufounes Électriques. Starting off with the night by wandering around Montreal, on a hot Wednesday afternoon, enjoying the sun and listening to soilwork and gojira, I heavily anticipated the show with high expectations of amazing musicianship and pure craft that is Winter's Gate by Insomnium.


Concert Review: La Luz @ L'Escogriffe, June 4th, 2018

Ever have one of those nights where you have two bands from two very different genres, play at the same time, at different venues? Well, imagine a concert where, on the same night and at one single venue, you could mosh to some garage punk AND sway and bop to some retro rock. Seems impossible? If this is your ideal Monday night, this past June 4th, L’Escogriffe put on a fantastic dual concert that satisfied musical flip-floppers like myself. Math punk rock band Gym Shorts from Rhode Island and retro doo-wop rock band La Luz from Seattle showcased some sick riffs and mellow ballads. More importantly, the night was full of talented and badass women.


Pages