Concert Reviews

M.I.A. + Spank Rock @ Metropolis

By Trevor Kiernander - Ones and Zeroes - 09/24/2005

There isn’t much to be said about M.I.A. that hasn’t already been over-said. Yet, she's not over-hyped. The rumours and press are 110% true that M.I.A. can rock a party right, and though everyone and their sister Sally is talking about her, M.I.A. deserves all the respect she gets.


WE ARE WOLVES + Sailboats Are White @ La Sala Rossa

By Trevor Kiernander - Ones and Zeroes - 09/16/2005

Well I am here once again to report some good news and some bad news. The bad news is that due to technical difficulties and the metro schedule, I was unable to check out The Gossip at La Sala Rossa on September 22. The good news is that We Are Wolves rocked my kneecaps off and my fists into the air!


APOCALYPTICA @ Spectrum

By Johnny Suck - Turn Down the Suck - 09/16/2005


KMFDM @ Cabaret La Tulipe

By Johnny Suck - Turn Down the Suck - 10/06/2005

Disclaimer: I’m not a KMFDM fan. While I appreciate them, I’ve never really got into them. I only have one album and had never seen them before this show.

Since I’m too cool to be punctual, I missed opener The Birthday Massacre. I guess that La Tulipe is one of those good venues where shows actually start on time. A quick search tells me that TBM is a “new wave post-retro band”. I don’t know what that means, but I would have liked to have found out. Oh well.


SEU JORGE + Carioca Freitas @ Club Soda

By Trevor Kiernander - Ones and Zeroes - 09/10/2005

For those of you who keep up to date on reading these reviews, you may have noticed that I can be a tad bit cynical (in regards to shows, not movies). My reviews usually teeter between how great the show was, and my sheer disgust and contempt for the audience. So this is what I was conditioning myself for with Seu Jorge playing at Club Soda on September 10.


STEREOPHONICS + Augustana @ Cabaret

By Antonella F. - The Siamese Libertines - 05/15/2005

What happens when you combine the melodic introspection of newbies Augustana with the raw jocosity of veterans Stereophonics? A gratifying show for both mind and matter.


DOVES @ Spectrum

By Katie Seline - Wrong Side of the Bed - 09/13/2005


DREDG + Pacer + Sign Of One @ Cabaret La Tulipe

By Mikey B - The Lonesome Strangers - 08/22/2005

Most people working for an underground radio station would jump at the opportunity to see a free show, any free show. Even if the show in question takes place in a few hours, it’s still a free show. Just hearing the word “guestlist” in a sentence will make you jump like a trout into the rock 'n roll boat. Luckily for me, the band I’d be seeing was California’s Dredg, who were making their first ever stop in Montreal.


THE DEAD KENNEDYS @ Club Soda

By Sandré & Matt Matthews - Idle Minds - 08/13/2005

Note: The following is a transcribed, taped conversation between Idle Minds alumni Sandré and Matt Matthews.

Sandré: Well grab my crotch and call me a whore! If it isn't Matt Matthews in the flesh!

Matt: It is, and don't mind if I do! Whore!!!

Sandré: So I didn't talk to you about the DK show the other night. So, what did you think? Was it worth the money?

Matt: I don't know, I didn't pay!

Together: HAHAHAHA! (high-fives all around)


HOLLY GOLIGHTLY + the Woggles @ El Salon

By Paul Brown - The Go-Go Radio Magic Show - 07/18/2005

The great thing about not knowing the opening band is the ability to find a new love. This is exactly what happened last Monday night. The Woggles were a band whose name may be more familiar than their music. In fact, there were many conversations in line with people trying to find out info on the opening act. The only wisdom that could be shared was “uh, they’re from Georgia”.


DINOSAUR JR @ Festival d'été de Québec

By Alex Huynh - Losing My Edge - 07/16/2005

"Ça sonne en crisse"


BUCK 65 + Ridley Bent @ Main Hall

By Stephanie D - Idle Minds - 07/07/2005

Warning: this is a review written by an Idle Mind

It was a warm summer night in Quebexico, and I didn't know what to expect.


MAXIMO PARK + Trouble Hubble @ Cabaret La Tulipe

By Trevor Kiernander - Ones and Zeroes - 06/13/2005

Hey Nigel! Make plans for Maximo Park! And no, I’m not saying that the Park boys are the next XTC. And I’m not going to say that they are the next Smiths or the Jam. Of course they are a driving force of post-punk/new-wave from Newcastle, but you do a band more justice by speaking of their music than by touting them as the big band from yesterday. Hell, if I read a review that said ‘so and so’ was the next Stone Roses, you bet your grandma I’ll be there! Besides, being compared to the Smiths and the Talking Heads should be good enough PR for anyone.


Pages