Concert Reviews

JASON MRAZ + Raul Midon @ Spectrum

By Jordan-na Belle-Isle - Canadian Invasion - 10/06/2005

Like, omigod! I got to see Jason Mraz headline at the Spectrum and it was, like, pretty okay. And I’m not into him because he’s hot or anything! It’s about the music, you know, totally about the music. But he is soooooo hot, omigod! And he wore a pink t-shirt (his new single is “Geek in the Pink” ;) ) and his trademark backward baseball hat, so cute!


TRICKY WOO + The Leather Uppers @ Petit Campus

By Angelica - BVST - 10/08/2005

As I get older and the weather gets colder, it becomes more and more tempting to not go out on a Saturday night. I came close to skipping out on last weekend's hot date: Tricky Woo with Top Brass and The Leather Uppers. I then remembered that that not only are Tricky Woo one of my favorite bands, they've been doing this since I was still trading stickers with my friends (well, almost) so my encroaching old age is certainly not an excuse.


STARS + Hope For A Golden Summer + Donkey Heart @ Art En Majuscule

By Katie Seline - Wrong Side of the Bed - 09/30/2005

What I love most about this city is its easy access to great bands in intimate settings. Last Friday I was privileged enough to be able to attend the 150 tickets-only Quiet Fire II show at Art En Majuscule, in the warehouse district of the Old Port. This would be the end of my Pop Montreal binge, and was without a doubt the greatest possible way to pack it in.


M.I.A. + Spank Rock @ Metropolis

By Trevor Kiernander - Ones and Zeroes - 09/24/2005

There isn’t much to be said about M.I.A. that hasn’t already been over-said. Yet, she's not over-hyped. The rumours and press are 110% true that M.I.A. can rock a party right, and though everyone and their sister Sally is talking about her, M.I.A. deserves all the respect she gets.


WE ARE WOLVES + Sailboats Are White @ La Sala Rossa

By Trevor Kiernander - Ones and Zeroes - 09/16/2005

Well I am here once again to report some good news and some bad news. The bad news is that due to technical difficulties and the metro schedule, I was unable to check out The Gossip at La Sala Rossa on September 22. The good news is that We Are Wolves rocked my kneecaps off and my fists into the air!


APOCALYPTICA @ Spectrum

By Johnny Suck - Turn Down the Suck - 09/16/2005


SEU JORGE + Carioca Freitas @ Club Soda

By Trevor Kiernander - Ones and Zeroes - 09/10/2005

For those of you who keep up to date on reading these reviews, you may have noticed that I can be a tad bit cynical (in regards to shows, not movies). My reviews usually teeter between how great the show was, and my sheer disgust and contempt for the audience. So this is what I was conditioning myself for with Seu Jorge playing at Club Soda on September 10.


KMFDM @ Cabaret La Tulipe

By Johnny Suck - Turn Down the Suck - 10/06/2005

Disclaimer: I’m not a KMFDM fan. While I appreciate them, I’ve never really got into them. I only have one album and had never seen them before this show.

Since I’m too cool to be punctual, I missed opener The Birthday Massacre. I guess that La Tulipe is one of those good venues where shows actually start on time. A quick search tells me that TBM is a “new wave post-retro band”. I don’t know what that means, but I would have liked to have found out. Oh well.


DOVES @ Spectrum

By Katie Seline - Wrong Side of the Bed - 09/13/2005


STEREOPHONICS + Augustana @ Cabaret

By Antonella F. - The Siamese Libertines - 05/15/2005

What happens when you combine the melodic introspection of newbies Augustana with the raw jocosity of veterans Stereophonics? A gratifying show for both mind and matter.


DREDG + Pacer + Sign Of One @ Cabaret La Tulipe

By Mikey B - The Lonesome Strangers - 08/22/2005

Most people working for an underground radio station would jump at the opportunity to see a free show, any free show. Even if the show in question takes place in a few hours, it’s still a free show. Just hearing the word “guestlist” in a sentence will make you jump like a trout into the rock 'n roll boat. Luckily for me, the band I’d be seeing was California’s Dredg, who were making their first ever stop in Montreal.


THE DEAD KENNEDYS @ Club Soda

By Sandré & Matt Matthews - Idle Minds - 08/13/2005

Note: The following is a transcribed, taped conversation between Idle Minds alumni Sandré and Matt Matthews.

Sandré: Well grab my crotch and call me a whore! If it isn't Matt Matthews in the flesh!

Matt: It is, and don't mind if I do! Whore!!!

Sandré: So I didn't talk to you about the DK show the other night. So, what did you think? Was it worth the money?

Matt: I don't know, I didn't pay!

Together: HAHAHAHA! (high-fives all around)


Pages