Concert Reviews


By DCU - No Sleep Til Bedtime - 04/22/2005

Wake up early in Montreal, head to the border expecting the worst… AND nothing; 20 seconds talking to the border guard and away we were to the most incredible metal concert North America has to offer (of course after stocking up on Labatt 50s, JD, and Jager’s at the Duty-Free).

STRAYLIGHT RUN + Honorary Title + Gratitude + more @ Cabaret La Tulipe

By Mikey B - The Lonesome Strangers - 05/04/2005

In the last week, I’ve been privileged to see some amazing bands. Motörhead robbed me of my aural virginity, Goldfinger rocked my pants off and Straylight Run put me to sleep.

GARBAGE @ Metropolis

By Ash - Primetime! With Ash and Leeland - 04/24/2005

GOLDFINGER + The Bottom Line + Black Maria @ Club Soda

By Mikey B - The Lonesome Strangers - 05/01/2005

It is no secret to most people that know me that I love Goldfinger. So this review might be slightly biased since I’m getting the chance to review one of my favorite bands. For years, I’ve been going to every one of their shows and I’ve never left disappointed. I go absolutely berzerker, singing along to every song and I usually get the shit kicked out of me. Sunday night’s show at Club Soda was no exception.

ARSENIQ 33 + Floating Widget + Wolfunkind @ Cabaret

By Johnnybot - Turn Down the Suck - 04/29/2005

This show had a bit of an odd bill. While both Arseniq 33 and Floating Widget are very good bands, they are completely different from each other. The contrast was a little too strong and the show suffered from it despite individually good sets.

Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings @ El Salon

By Christopher Bussmann - Bop and Beyond - 04/28/2005

Opening with a funky instrumental set, the Dap-Kings had bodies moving to their grip-tight buggalo, priming the audience for their four-foot, eleven inch soul dynamo front-woman; and when she took the stage the place exploded. Sharon can sing, she can dance, and she can connect with the fans - bringing them on stage to sing-along and dance, telling them stories about 'back in the day' and how each song came about. Sharon Jones is a performer in the true and versatile sense of the word. And she is a star.

HOT HOT HEAT + The Futureheads + Louis XIV @ Metropolis

By Matt - Idle Minds - 04/22/2005

Awful, Excellent, and not the train wreck I was expecting.

Easiest review I ever wrote!

…what? I have to write more? Damnit…

For people who love bands that sound like other bands, last Friday’s show at the Metropolis was a night to remember. And I don’t mean that as a negative... these days, it’s very hard to find a band that doesn’t sound like someone else, or an amalgamation of various bands. The trick is to do it well.


By Mikaela - Lessons in Lo-Fi - 04/18/2005


By Louis - Hooked On Sonics - 04/08/2005

THE KILLS + Scout Niblett @ Café Campus

By Alex - Losing My Edge - 04/08/2005

If there's anything harder for a gimmick band than releasing a sophomore effort, it's touring for it. While the Kills, to their credit, have managed to create a somewhat interesting sound from their post-White Stripes inception, the burden of proof that they still warrant further attention three years later lies squarely on their shoulders. Armed with generally positive response to their follow-up album No Wow and a drum machine, the confident blues-damaged London-based duo stepped up to the plate in front of a capacity crowd, aiming for the fences.

THE WEAKERTHANS + The Constantines + guests @ Cabaret

By Mikaela - Lessons in Lo-Fi - 03/30/2005

I’ll begin by stating that due to unforeseen circumstances -- as in, I didn’t feel like going -- I missed the first two opening bands for the Constantines/Weakerthans show. I can only comment on their participation in the after-show sing-along, which I shall do later.


By Tim R - Scarboro Sessions - 03/23/2005

Credited with coining the term Reggae as well as helping to shape its sound during the 60's in Jamaica, Toots and the Maytals are one of the most recognizable names in music today. On this Wednesday night, they would take to the stage at Club Soda.