Concert Reviews

KMFDM @ Cabaret La Tulipe

By Johnny Suck - Turn Down the Suck - 10/06/2005

Disclaimer: I’m not a KMFDM fan. While I appreciate them, I’ve never really got into them. I only have one album and had never seen them before this show.

Since I’m too cool to be punctual, I missed opener The Birthday Massacre. I guess that La Tulipe is one of those good venues where shows actually start on time. A quick search tells me that TBM is a “new wave post-retro band”. I don’t know what that means, but I would have liked to have found out. Oh well.


STEREOPHONICS + Augustana @ Cabaret

By Antonella F. - The Siamese Libertines - 05/15/2005

What happens when you combine the melodic introspection of newbies Augustana with the raw jocosity of veterans Stereophonics? A gratifying show for both mind and matter.


DOVES @ Spectrum

By Katie Seline - Wrong Side of the Bed - 09/13/2005


DREDG + Pacer + Sign Of One @ Cabaret La Tulipe

By Mikey B - The Lonesome Strangers - 08/22/2005

Most people working for an underground radio station would jump at the opportunity to see a free show, any free show. Even if the show in question takes place in a few hours, it’s still a free show. Just hearing the word “guestlist” in a sentence will make you jump like a trout into the rock 'n roll boat. Luckily for me, the band I’d be seeing was California’s Dredg, who were making their first ever stop in Montreal.


THE DEAD KENNEDYS @ Club Soda

By Sandré & Matt Matthews - Idle Minds - 08/13/2005

Note: The following is a transcribed, taped conversation between Idle Minds alumni Sandré and Matt Matthews.

Sandré: Well grab my crotch and call me a whore! If it isn't Matt Matthews in the flesh!

Matt: It is, and don't mind if I do! Whore!!!

Sandré: So I didn't talk to you about the DK show the other night. So, what did you think? Was it worth the money?

Matt: I don't know, I didn't pay!

Together: HAHAHAHA! (high-fives all around)


HOLLY GOLIGHTLY + the Woggles @ El Salon

By Paul Brown - The Go-Go Radio Magic Show - 07/18/2005

The great thing about not knowing the opening band is the ability to find a new love. This is exactly what happened last Monday night. The Woggles were a band whose name may be more familiar than their music. In fact, there were many conversations in line with people trying to find out info on the opening act. The only wisdom that could be shared was “uh, they’re from Georgia”.


DINOSAUR JR @ Festival d'été de Québec

By Alex Huynh - Losing My Edge - 07/16/2005

"Ça sonne en crisse"


BUCK 65 + Ridley Bent @ Main Hall

By Stephanie D - Idle Minds - 07/07/2005

Warning: this is a review written by an Idle Mind

It was a warm summer night in Quebexico, and I didn't know what to expect.


ALEXISONFIRE + Story Of The Year + Kill Radio @ Metropolis

By Jordan-na Belle-Isle - Canadian Invasion - 06/29/2005

On a humid Montreal Wednesday evening, a packed Metropolis housed three of those newfangled emo/screamo quasi-punk bands that are all the rage with the young ‘uns these days. It was a threesome of angst-ridden music with only one winner who emerged sweaty and victorious from the weeping anthems, pained shouts and quick guitars.


MAXIMO PARK + Trouble Hubble @ Cabaret La Tulipe

By Trevor Kiernander - Ones and Zeroes - 06/13/2005

Hey Nigel! Make plans for Maximo Park! And no, I’m not saying that the Park boys are the next XTC. And I’m not going to say that they are the next Smiths or the Jam. Of course they are a driving force of post-punk/new-wave from Newcastle, but you do a band more justice by speaking of their music than by touting them as the big band from yesterday. Hell, if I read a review that said ‘so and so’ was the next Stone Roses, you bet your grandma I’ll be there! Besides, being compared to the Smiths and the Talking Heads should be good enough PR for anyone.


ALKALINE TRIO + Rufio @ Club Soda

By Dallas Richter - Don't Mess With Dallas - 06/21/2005


NO USE FOR A NAME + Bigwig + The Reason + Mute @ Metropolis

By Mikey B - The Lonesome Strangers - 06/09/2005

A good No Use For A Name show is a pretty regular occurrence here, considering the fact that they’ve played Montreal twice in the last year and a half. As far as most hard-working punk acts go, NUFAN has still got chops, and they haven’t pussed out and gone pop like so many other punkers out there.


IVY + Hexes & Ohs + Astaire @ Cabaret

By Lina Harper - Ivy Gives Good Rashes - 06/13/2005

Since their debut album in 1995, Ivy has known some small successes in their lives as soft indie rock darlings. The three-piece band played to an intimate crowd on Monday June 13th at Cabaret (2111 Saint-Laurent). The low turnout was perhaps due to the cost of the tickets ($15) or the sweltering heat of the temporary sauna we called Montréal. If only people knew that the joint is nicely air-conditioned, intimate and the sound quality is pretty on par with the bigger venues in the city.


Pages